Community Events

Keep up to date with the latest events from Mosaic. As well as the events listed below you can also see what's on in our calendar, and see the pages for our regular weekly and monthly events including:

Adult Education | Book Group | Chavurah Suppers | Cook team | Film Group | Friendship Clubs | Library | Photo Group | Trips | Walks | Cameo

Meet the Space Doctor

Tuesday, January 18

Join us at 2.30 when Dr Daniel Grant will be interviewed by Steve Levinson,.

Daniel is a doctor with a background that’s out of this world. Daniel has worked in the extreme environments both at the very top of the Alps, deep underwater and all the way over at NASA. He now specialises in preventative health where he translates the learnings from space into everyday life. His work ranges from community sport and social prescription, through to empowered biomarker healthcare, and to  Stealth Health – the art of keeping you healthy without you ever knowing it. Continue reading


Celebrate Tu b’Shevat with the Woodland Trust

Sunday, January 16

Celebrate Tu b’Shevat with the Woodland Trust and learn about the magic of trees and how you can  make a difference for people, the climate and wildlife.

Join us at 4.00 pm when our interactive zoom talk will be lead by Martin Boiling who has been a member of the Woodland Trust for over 30 years. He has worked with the Trustees and senior management on a review of strategy, helped establish the volunteer programme nationally, run community engagement projects and, as a speaker, gives regular talks and leads guided walks around local woodlands. Martin will share with us what we can do in our community to protect trees and local woodlands and increase tree cover to mitigate climate change, provide a home for wildlife, and improve our wellbeing.

Click here to join event on Zoom

Meeting ID: 849 4055 3653

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above


“My Good Read” – Returns by popular demand

Sunday, January 9

Please join us at 4.00 pm for another chance to hear more of our prolific readers discussing their 2 book choices.

There will be time for audience members to ask questions, comment and add their own choices if they wish.

We look forward to seeing you for this interesting and entertaining afternoon.

Click here to join event on Zoom

Meeting ID: 831 4493 1056

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above


Mosaic On-Line Tea Time Quiz

Sunday, December 26

On Sunday 26th December, after you have finished the turkey and switched off the television, join John Ashmele at 4.00 pm for his final Zoom quiz when he will reveal the answers to the movie round, which can be found on www.ashmele.co.uk/blog/quiz. Party hats are mandatory!

 

 

Join Zoom Meeting at 4.00 pm on Sunday 26th December

Click here to join Tea Time Quiz

Meeting ID: 836 6939 7471

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above

 


Meet the Author – Alex Gerlis

Tuesday, December 21

Join us at 2.30pm when author Alex Gerlis will be interviewed by Steve Levinson about his 9th novel Agent in Berlin which has just been published.

Agent in Berlin is Alex’s ninth novel and follows on from the success of the Spy Master and Prince series: as of December 2021, Alex will have sold in excess of 350,000 copies of his novels, in paperback and eBook formats.

This novel is the first (of three) in a new series featuring an unlikely pair of British agents operating out of Berlin: an American sports journalist and an SS officer’s wife.

Nos 2 & 3 in that series should be out during 2022.

‘With war coming to Europe British spymaster Barnaby Allen is recruiting a network of agents in Germany.  Despite constant danger and the ever-present threats of discovery and betrayal, Allen’s network unearths top-secret plans for a new German fighter plane – and a truly devastating intelligence prize… an audacious Japanese plan to attack the United States. But can they prove it?

The race is on.

An unputdownable and atmospheric Second World War espionage thriller, Agent in Berlin will grip you to the very end. Perfect for readers of David Young, Robert Harris and Rory Clements.’

Click here to join event on Zoom

Meeting ID: 828 6392 1720

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above


“Talk Matters” with Jenny Nemko

Sunday, December 19

Join us at 4.00 pm when Jenny Nemko, founder of ‘Talk Matters’ will be talking about this initiative.

Talk Matters began just over a year ago. The purpose is twofold – to raise awareness of co-operative Palestinian-Israeli initiatives and to serve as an umbrella group for likeminded organisations to exchange ideas and share resources.

Jenny says: ‘I believe that the projects that Talk Matters represent are vital not only for the future of Israel and Palestine but also for Christian-Muslim-Jewish relations here in the UK where there is so much ignorance and confusion surrounding Palestine, Israel, Zionism and Antisemitism.’

www.talkmatters.info

Click here to join event on Zoom

Meeting ID: 863 9361 2874

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above


Mosaic Jewish Community AGM

Wednesday, December 15

Mosaic members are reminded that the 2021 Annual General Meeting will commence at 8.00 pm.

The meeting will (hopefully!) be brief and will include updates regarding Stanmore Hill, plans for 2022, and recruitment of Rabbis.

Click the links below to download the relevant documents:

MJC Finance Report for AGM 2021

MJC Governance Report for AGM 2021

MJC AGM 2020 Minutes APPROVED


The Human Right To Food – A Jewish Responsibility

Sunday, December 12

Join us at 400 pm , when Rachel Vogler, the leader of Rene Cassin’s Right to Food campaign, and the charity’s Social Justice and Women’s Rights Campaigns Officer, will be discussing the theme of this year’s Human Rights Shabbat, the Right to Food,

Rachel is a sexual violence researcher, currently working on publications with the 1752 Group and supporting the Violence Against Women Research Network. Rachel has also worked for Jewish Women’s Aid and carries with her values of equity and justice. She is currently completing her MA in Gender Studies and will be published in a book of essays on sexual violence prevention in early 2022. Continue reading


Meet the Israeli Brigadier General

Tuesday, December 7

Meet Noam Reef – Head of the World Zionist Organization delegation in the United Kingdom.

Join us at 2.30 pm when Michael Reik will be introducing Noam Reef who has recently taken over ‘The World Zionist Organisation’ WZO in the UK. Noam will elaborate on his own life story and the way forward under the title: ‘From the Northern border to the Northern Line.’  Noam will also introduce to us Steve Winston, the Chief Executive Office from the Zionist Federation (ZF), who will explain the current activities of the ZF. Continue reading


Meet Elise Italiaander

Tuesday, November 23

Meet the Audio and Digital Manager at DK publishing and learn more about the audio books industry

Join us at 2.30 when Alex Gerlis will interview Elise Italiaander , who is the Audio and Digital Manager at DK publishing.

Elise has interviewed a number of authors and celebrity narrators for Audible’s short-form content. At DK, she has launched their audiobook list, publishing over 170 titles to date, as well as working closely with the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion team writing recommendations and heritage & culture pieces for their newsletter.

Click here to join event on Zoom

Meeting ID: 896 0587 4653

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above