Events

Keep up to date with the latest events from Mosaic.  At this time we are a “virtual” community on Zoom and please contact us if you need any help connecting with us on Zoom.

For details of regular Shabbat Services, see one of the following pages: Liberal | Masorti | Reform

Key Feature

Celebrate Chanukah with Mosaic

Saturday December 04

Sunday 28th November – Sunday 5th December

This year we will be holding daily candle lighting on Zoom, followed by Erev Shabbat Service on Friday 3rd December, plus Havdalah on Saturday 4th December and then an in-person Chanukah party on 5th December (candle lighting will also be on Zoom later).

So get your Chanukiah ready and join us for daily candle lighting and other activities as shown below.

Don’t forget to bring your own latkes and doughnuts!

Download the Chanukah siddur here

Continue reading →

Mosaic Chanukah Party

Sunday December 05

At last, we can celebrate Chanukah in person!

Please join us for a fun afternoon to celebrate the last night of Chanukah from 3.00 – 5.00 pm.
There will be sushi, doughnuts & chocolate coins for all!
Please bring along a Chanukiah & candles as we will be lighting them all together.

See your personal invitation for details of the Stanmore venue.

Don’t forget to let us know you’re coming so that we’re sure to have a doughnut for you!

This event will be in-person only.  However, those unable to be there physically can join on Zoom for the nightly lighting of the candles at 6.00 pm (please note time change).  To join:.

Click here to join candle lighting at 6.00 pm via Zoom
Zoom Id: 868 1273 9742

Continue reading →

Mosaic Jewish Community AGM

Wednesday December 15

Mosaic members are reminded that the 2021 Annual General Meeting will commence at 8.00 pm.

The meeting will (hopefully!) be brief and will include updates regarding Stanmore Hill, plans for 2022, and recruitment of Rabbis.

Continue reading →

What's On

Meet the Israeli Brigadier General

Tuesday December 07

Meet Noam Reef – Head of the World Zionist Organization delegation in the United Kingdom.

Join us at 2.30 pm when Michael Reik will be introducing Noam Reef who has recently taken over ‘The World Zionist Organisation’ WZO in the UK. Noam will elaborate on his own life story and the way forward under the title: ‘From the Northern border to the Northern Line.’  Noam will also introduce to us Steve Winston, the Chief Executive Office from the Zionist Federation (ZF), who will explain the current activities of the ZF.

Continue reading →

Tea and Torah

Wednesday December 08

Study Torah with one of our Rabbis

11.00 am Wednesday morning

To join the meeting via Zoom, please click:

Join Tea and Torah

Continue reading →

The Human Right To Food – A Jewish Responsibility

Sunday December 12

Join us at 400 pm , when Rachel Vogler, the leader of Rene Cassin’s Right to Food campaign, and the charity’s Social Justice and Women’s Rights Campaigns Officer, will be discussing the theme of this year’s Human Rights Shabbat, the Right to Food,

Rachel is a sexual violence researcher, currently working on publications with the 1752 Group and supporting the Violence Against Women Research Network. Rachel has also worked for Jewish Women’s Aid and carries with her values of equity and justice. She is currently completing her MA in Gender Studies and will be published in a book of essays on sexual violence prevention in early 2022.

Continue reading →

Tea and Torah

Wednesday December 15

Study Torah with one of our Rabbis

11.00 am Wednesday morning

To join the meeting via Zoom, please click:

Join Tea and Torah

Continue reading →

“Talk Matters” with Jenny Nemko

Sunday December 19

Join us at 4.00 pm when Jenny Nemko, founder of ‘Talk Matters’ will be talking about this initiative.

Talk Matters began just over a year ago. The purpose is twofold – to raise awareness of co-operative Palestinian-Israeli initiatives and to serve as an umbrella group for likeminded organisations to exchange ideas and share resources.

Jenny says: ‘I believe that the projects that Talk Matters represent are vital not only for the future of Israel and Palestine but also for Christian-Muslim-Jewish relations here in the UK where there is so much ignorance and confusion surrounding Palestine, Israel, Zionism and Antisemitism.’

www.talkmatters.info

Click here to join event on Zoom

Meeting ID: 863 9361 2874

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above

Continue reading →

Meet the Author – Alex Gerlis

Tuesday December 21

Join us at 2.30pm when author Alex Gerlis will be interviewed by Steve Levinson about his 9th novel Agent in Berlin which has just been published.

Agent in Berlin is Alex’s ninth novel and follows on from the success of the Spy Master and Prince series: as of December 2021, Alex will have sold in excess of 350,000 copies of his novels, in paperback and eBook formats.

This novel is the first (of three) in a new series featuring an unlikely pair of British agents operating out of Berlin: an American sports journalist and an SS officer’s wife.

Nos 2 & 3 in that series should be out during 2022.

‘With war coming to Europe British spymaster Barnaby Allen is recruiting a network of agents in Germany.  Despite constant danger and the ever-present threats of discovery and betrayal, Allen’s network unearths top-secret plans for a new German fighter plane – and a truly devastating intelligence prize… an audacious Japanese plan to attack the United States. But can they prove it?

The race is on.

An unputdownable and atmospheric Second World War espionage thriller, Agent in Berlin will grip you to the very end. Perfect for readers of David Young, Robert Harris and Rory Clements.’

Click here to join event on Zoom

Meeting ID: 828 6392 1720

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above

Continue reading →

Tea and Torah

Wednesday December 22

Study Torah with one of our Rabbis

11.00 am Wednesday morning

To join the meeting via Zoom, please click:

Join Tea and Torah

Continue reading →

Mosaic On-Line Tea Time Quiz

Sunday December 26

On Sunday 26th December, after you have finished the turkey and switched off the television, join John Ashmele at 4.00 pm for his final Zoom quiz when he will reveal the answers to the movie round, which can be found on www.ashmele.co.uk/blog/quiz. Party hats are mandatory!

 

 

Join Zoom Meeting at 4.00 pm on Sunday 26th December

Click here to join Tea Time Quiz

Meeting ID: 836 6939 7471

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above

 

Continue reading →

Tea and Torah

Wednesday December 29

Study Torah with one of our Rabbis

11.00 am Wednesday morning

To join the meeting via Zoom, please click:

Join Tea and Torah

Continue reading →

Meet the Space Doctor

Tuesday January 18

Join us at 2.30 when Dr Daniel Grant will be interviewed by Steve Levinson,.

Daniel is a doctor with a background that’s out of this world. Daniel has worked in the extreme environments both at the very top of the Alps, deep underwater and all the way over at NASA. He now specialises in preventative health where he translates the learnings from space into everyday life. His work ranges from community sport and social prescription, through to empowered biomarker healthcare, and to  Stealth Health – the art of keeping you healthy without you ever knowing it.

Continue reading →

Mosaic On-Line Tea Time Quiz

Sunday January 30

Neil Goodman, will present another entertaining on-line quiz for the Mosaic Jewish Community & friends. No winners, no prizes, just a lot of fun. Refreshments: whatever is left over from lunch!

Join Zoom Meeting at 4.00 pm on Sunday 30th January

Click here to join Tea Time Quiz

Meeting ID: 836 6939 7471

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above

 

Continue reading →

Meet the Director of “We Believe in Israel”, Luke Akehurst

Tuesday February 01

Join us at 2:30pm when Steve Levison will interview Luke Akehurst on two major subjects of concern:

  • How to tackle boycotts and delegitimization of Israel and
  • What is happening as regards Israel, Jews, and Anti-Semitism in the Labour Party. (updated since the change of leader from Corbyn to Starmer)

Luke is qualified on many counts on these subjects. Luke is not Jewish but has been a committed Zionist all his life. He topped the poll in the 2020 ballot for the Labour Party National Executive Committee. “We believe in Israel” is a BICOM initiative, with 24,000 supporters and Luke as its director since 2011. He was previously the award-winning director of Global PR Company, Weber Shandwick.

Important periods of Luke’s life include graduating in Politics from Bristol University 1993;  He was Vice-President European Community Organisation of Socialist Youth, 1997-2001; He stood as Labour Party Candidate in Aldershot 2001 and as Labour Party Candidate for Castle Point in 2005; He was the winner of Public Affairs News UK Political Consultant of the Year in 2008. He was a member of Labour Party National Executive 2010-2012 and 2020

Click here to join event via Zoom

Meeting ID: 824 4821 0381

If you don’t have a computer / tablet / smartphone you can still call in (standard charges apply) 0203 051 2874
Meeting ID as above

Continue reading →

As well as the events listed above you can also see what’s on in our calendar, and see the pages for our regular weekly and monthly events including:

Adult Education | Book Group | Chavurah Suppers | Cook team | Film Group | Friendship Clubs | Library | Photo Group | Trips | Walks | Cameo | JACS | Singing Seniors | Befrienders